Group Profile: NCT (엔시티)

“To the world! 여긴 NCT.”

SM’s youngest boy group debuted in 2016 with an ambitious concept. Instead of being the standard K-pop boy group with a set amount of members, NCT came with 18 members (now 21) and multiple units. After building a foundation in South Korea, the initial goal was to create NCT units in different countries across the world and become a truly global K-pop group. Although that plan hasn’t fully come to fruition yet, it’s clear that all of the NCT members have a dedicated global fanbase.

NOTE: Because NCT is a rather unique boy group in terms of structure, I’ve organized their profile a little differently than my other ones.  This page covers the basics, and more specific information can be found on each unit’s individual page.

Basic Information:

  • Units: NCT U, NCT 127, NCT Dream, WayV (for more information, see below)
  • Members: Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Kun, Doyoung, Ten, Jaehyun, WinWin, Jungwoo, Lucas, Mark, Xiao Jun, Hendery, Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, YangYang, Chenle, Jisung
    • NOTE: As of now (August 2020), many major NCT projects like NCT 2018 do not include Xiao Jun, Hendery, or YangYang. They were still trainees at the time, and they officially debuted in WayV in 2019.
  • Member Age Range: Members born between 1994 (Taeil) and 2002 (Jisung)
  • Agency: SM Entertainment (and Label V for WayV)
  • Debut Date: April 9, 2016 (NCT U) / July 7, 2016 (NCT 127) / August 24, 2016 (NCT Dream) / January 17, 2019 (WayV)
  • Name Meaning: “Neo Culture Technology”
  • Fandom Name: NCTzen (which is a play on the English word “citizen”)

NCT Light Stick

WayV Light Stick


Click on a picture to go to the page!

NCT 127

Current Members: Taeyong, Taeil, Johnny, Yuta, Doyoung, Jaehyun, Jungwoo, Mark, Haechan

NCT 127 is named for Seoul’s longitude and was originally intended to be the unit that handled activities in South Korea. However, they’ve recently expanded their reach to other counties like the United States.


Latest Members (in 2018): Taeyong, Doyoung, Jaehyun, WinWin, Jungwoo, Lucas, Mark

The first NCT unit to debut, NCT U is a rotational unit. Any songs they release can have a different lineup of members and a different musical style. So far, NCT U has promoted for some of the big moments of NCT’s career (debut, starting unit for NCT 2018, etc.)

NCT Dream

Current Members: Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Chenle, Jisung

NCT Dream was originally a unit for the younger teenage members of NCT with a graduation concept. However, the current lineup had so much success that SM has decided to keep NCT Dream as a fixed unit.


Current Members: Kun, Ten, WinWin, Lucas, Xiao Jun, Hendery, YangYang

Newly debuted in 2019, WayV combined four previously established NCT members with three trainees from SM Rookies. All members are from China or Chinese speaking countries and/or are of Chinese descent. Though WayV has a different name and is promoted separately from NCT, it is considered to be the NCT unit based in China.

Other NCT Pages

Click the picture to go to the page!

NCT Member Profile

NCT Individual Activities

NCT Variety Show Appearances

NCT Special Stages and Dance Covers

NOTE: All images and videos on this page belong to SM Entertainment and/or Label V.

%d bloggers like this: